PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic lists for about $30 less on its maker's store. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy self-cleaning litter box

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)

~$130

PetSafe still sells the 2020 redesign that made the health counter standard across the line, now under the Legacy name at about $130 uncovered.

Best for: A tight budget, one cat, and no interest in an app

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic self-cleaning litter box

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)

~$100

At about $100 on sale, the cheapest motorised box in the catalog is also the most limited.

Best for: One small or medium cat, on the lowest possible upfront spend

Days between emptying

The maker publishes no drawer volume, so the days cannot be worked out.

Specification comparison of the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic
SpecificationPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro LegacyPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic
Approx. price~$130~$100
TypeCrystal trayCrystal tray
Kitten gateAutomate from 6 months (no weight published)Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
Maker's minimum age6 months6 months
Max. cat weightnot published15 lb
Big-cat fitNo weight limit publishedSmall to medium cats (to 15 lb)
Footprint19.1 × 27.6 in × 6.2 in tall20.4 × 28 in × 7.1 in tall
Tray lifeUp to 30 days, one catnot published
Litter systemDisposable crystal trayDisposable crystal tray
Litters listedsilica crystalsilica crystal
Litters to avoidclumping clay, non-clumpingclumping clay, non-clumping
Weight sensorNoNo
Anti-pinch protectionNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Infrared / radarNot publishedNot published
CameraNoNo
Wi-Fi appNoNo
Running cost~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker statesRequires a proprietary consumable
Required consumableScoopFree disposable crystal litter trayScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray
Bags / linersNone — the tray is lidded and thrown awayNone — the tray is lidded and thrown away
First listed2020not published

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy: what it gives up

  • The tray habit costs more over two years than the box itself
  • Older design with no tray-change light
  • Crystal trays only
  • No published weight limits or warranty term on the page

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic: what it gives up

  • 15 lb ceiling rules out large cats outright
  • Recurring tray purchases dwarf the purchase price within a year
  • No counter, indicator or app
  • No tray-life figure on this model's page

Full pages: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy · PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic