PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy self-cleaning litter boxCrystal tray~$130

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)No weight limit published

PetSafe still sells the 2020 redesign that made the health counter standard across the line, now under the Legacy name at about $130 uncovered. Front-entry and top-entry hoods are both offered. The FAQ keeps the ScoopFree rule on kittens: leave it unplugged and scoop by hand until 6 months.

Approx. price

~$130

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

6 mo

maker's minimum age 6 months

Days between emptying

30-day tray

maker's tray life, one cat

Running cost

~$23/month

for one cat, at the longest life the maker states

Best for: A tight budget, one cat, and no interest in an app

Kittens and small cats

PetSafe publishes no detection weight, only a minimum age of 6 months. Run it by hand before then. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: sensor type not published. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$130
Type
Crystal tray
Kitten gate
Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
Big-cat fit
No weight limit published
Footprint
19.1 × 27.6 in × 6.2 in tall
Tray life
Up to 30 days, one cat
Litter system
Disposable crystal tray
Litters listed
silica crystal
Litters to avoid
clumping clay, non-clumping
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Infrared / radar
Not published
Running cost
~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states
Required consumable
ScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray
Bags / liners
None — the tray is lidded and thrown away
First listed
2020

Features

  • Health counter tallies visits
  • Safety motion sensors delay the rake
  • Uncovered, front-entry or top-entry versions
  • Leak-resistant lined disposable trays
  • Tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat

What it does well

  • Among the lowest purchase prices in the catalog
  • A top-entry hood option is unusual and cuts scatter
  • Visit counter without needing Wi-Fi
  • Tray swaps take seconds and involve no scooping

What it gives up

  • The tray habit costs more over two years than the box itself
  • Older design with no tray-change light
  • Crystal trays only
  • No published weight limits or warranty term on the page

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

No owner discussion has been read for the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy yet. This section stays empty until there is something real to put in it.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from PetSafe →

← Back to the catalog