CatGenie A.I. vs CatGenie Whoosh
The CatGenie Whoosh lists for about $30 less on its maker's store. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

CatGenie
CatGenie A.I.
Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
~$499
Nothing here gets emptied: the A.I.
Best for: A home with a spare spot beside a toilet or laundry drain and no wish to handle waste
No drawer: waste goes down a drain.

CatGenie
CatGenie Whoosh
Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
~$469
The Whoosh swaps the A.I.'s reusable granules for a flushable litter made from soybean pulp, and sends everything down the drain.
Best for: Two or three cats in a home with a drain nearby, where nobody wants a waste drawer
No drawer: waste goes down a drain.
| Specification | CatGenie A.I. | CatGenie Whoosh |
|---|---|---|
| Approx. price | ~$499 | ~$469 |
| Type | Flushing | Flushing |
| Kitten gate | Automate from 6 months (no weight published) | Automate from 6 months (no weight published) |
| Maker's minimum age | 6 months | 6 months |
| Big-cat fit | No weight limit published | No weight limit published |
| Footprint | 19.25 × 24.5 in × 21 in tall | 19.25 × 24.5 in × 21 in tall |
| Cats supported | Up to 2 | Up to 3 |
| Litter system | Washable granules | Clumping litter |
| Litters listed | washable granules | tofu |
| Litters to avoid | clumping clay, tofu, mixed, silica crystal, non-clumping | clumping clay, silica crystal, non-clumping, washable granules |
| Weight sensor | Not published | Not published |
| Anti-pinch protection | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
| Infrared / radar | Not published | Not published |
| Camera | No | No |
| Wi-Fi app | Yes | Not published |
| Running cost | Requires a proprietary consumable | ~$43/month for 2 cats, at the longest life the maker states |
| Required consumable | SaniSolution cleaning cartridge plus washable granules top-ups | Whoosh Super Clumping flushable litter plus SaniSolution cartridge |
| Bags / liners | None — waste goes down the drain | None — waste goes down the drain |
| Warranty | 2 years | 18 months |
| First listed | not published | 2025 |
CatGenie A.I.: what it gives up
- Needs a water line and a drain within reach
- Proprietary cartridges and granules are mandatory; ordinary litter voids the warranty
- CatGenie's cartridge figure is in cycles, not days, so no monthly cost is stated
- CatGenie reports the most consistent results with two cats per unit
- Six-month minimum age
CatGenie Whoosh: what it gives up
- Only CatGenie's Whoosh litter can be used
- Around $43 a month in consumables for two cats
- Needs water and drain access
- Shorter 18-month warranty
Full pages: CatGenie A.I. · CatGenie Whoosh