CatGenie Whoosh self-cleaning litter boxFlushing~$469

CatGenie

CatGenie Whoosh

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)No weight limit published

The Whoosh swaps the A.I.'s reusable granules for a flushable litter made from soybean pulp, and sends everything down the drain. CatGenie's own usage figures make it the one flushing box whose running cost can be worked out: about $43 a month for two cats, litter plus cartridge. It carries an 18-month warranty rather than two years.

Approx. price

~$469

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

6 mo

maker's minimum age 6 months

Running cost

~$43/month

for 2 cats, at the longest life the maker states

Warranty

18 months

standard, before extensions

Best for: Two or three cats in a home with a drain nearby, where nobody wants a waste drawer

Kittens and small cats

CatGenie publishes no detection weight, only a minimum age of 6 months. Run it by hand before then. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: sensor type not published. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

No drawer: waste goes down a drain.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$469
Type
Flushing
Kitten gate
Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
Big-cat fit
No weight limit published
Footprint
19.25 × 24.5 in × 21 in tall
Litter system
Clumping litter
Litters to avoid
clumping clay, silica crystal, non-clumping, washable granules
Weight sensor
Not published
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Infrared / radar
Not published
Wi-Fi app
Not published
Running cost
~$43/month for 2 cats, at the longest life the maker states
Required consumable
Whoosh Super Clumping flushable litter plus SaniSolution cartridge
Bags / liners
None — waste goes down the drain
Warranty
18 months
First listed
2025

Features

  • Flushes solids and liquids down a household drain
  • Uses CatGenie's flushable soybean-pulp litter
  • Cartridge rated for 480 cleaning cycles
  • Recommended for one to three cats
  • 18-month warranty

What it does well

  • Nothing to empty or bag
  • Running costs are published per two cats, so they can be planned
  • Plant-based flushable litter is low-dust
  • About $30 less than the A.I.

What it gives up

  • Only CatGenie's Whoosh litter can be used
  • Around $43 a month in consumables for two cats
  • Needs water and drain access
  • Shorter 18-month warranty

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

The Whoosh is CatGenie's newer, simpler take on the flushing box: instead of washing and drying reusable granules, it uses a flushable plant-based litter and sends waste down the drain. Owners coming from the A.I. like the result, with less litter tracked around the house and none of the baked-waste smell the heated dry could cause.

The drawbacks are the ones owners associate with the brand rather than the new design. The litter is proprietary and costs noticeably more than supermarket litter, delivery can take a week, and at least one owner on their fourth CatGenie saw the water intake fail again after six months. Owner discussion of the Whoosh is still thin compared with the A.I.

The natural buyer is an existing CatGenie household with the plumbing already in place, or someone who wants waste gone entirely and accepts buying CatGenie's litter indefinitely. Buyers who have been burned by out-of-warranty repairs on older CatGenies tend to recommend a drawer-based box instead.

What owners like

  • Owners moving from the A.I. notice the litter stays close to the box instead of the washable granules turning up all over the house
  • The baked-waste smell A.I. owners complain about is gone, according to a long-time CatGenie household four months into the Whoosh
  • New owners who have not used earlier CatGenies report no complaints in the first months

Common complaints

  • The litter has to come from CatGenie, and one owner said delivery took about a week, which means keeping a buffer on hand
  • Running cost is a concern: owners who price it put CatGenie's litter at roughly $2.70 a pound before shipping and look for approved alternatives
  • An owner on their fourth CatGenie had the Whoosh's water intake leak inside the machine after about six months, the same failure as their previous units
  • Out-of-warranty support is the recurring complaint about the brand, with owners quoting repair bills of about $200 to $250 per fault on older models

Questions owners ask about the CatGenie Whoosh

How is the Whoosh different from the CatGenie A.I.?

The A.I. washes and dries reusable granules; the Whoosh uses a flushable clumping litter and flushes it away. Owners switching say the litter tracks much less and the dryer smell is gone.

Can I use other litter in the Whoosh?

CatGenie sells its own Whoosh litter and has named a small number of approved alternatives; owners outside the US report those can be hard to find. Poorly clumping wheat and corn litters are the ones CatGenie advises against.

Is the Whoosh reliable?

It is too new for long-term owner data. One owner's water intake leaked internally after about six months, the same failure they had seen on earlier CatGenie machines, while others report no problems so far.

Others in the same part of the catalog

CatGenie A.I. self-cleaning litter box
CatGenie~$499

CatGenie A.I.

Flushing

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
Days between emptying
drains, no drawer
Big-cat fit
not published
Running cost
consumable, cost not published
  • No drawer to empty
  • Plumbed in
  • Granules only

Best for: A home with a spare spot beside a toilet or laundry drain and no wish to handle waste

More from CatGenie →

← Back to the catalog