PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus vs PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo

Only the PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo publishes a minimum detection weight (3.3 lb); PetSafe does not for the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

PetSafePAL00-18016Crystal tray

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)

~$200

The current open-tray ScoopFree adds a light that tells you when the crystal tray is spent.

Best for: A single cat in a small home where no drawer ever gets emptied

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

PETKITP9905Crystal tray

PETKIT

PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo

Automate from ~3.3 lb / ~6 months

~$200

This is PETKIT's answer to the ScoopFree: an open crystal tray, but with a camera that watches urination patterns and a 7-inch entry sill.

Best for: Single-cat owners who want a camera on a crystal-tray box

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

Specification comparison of the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus and the PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo
SpecificationPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal PlusPETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo
Approx. price~$200~$200
TypeCrystal trayCrystal tray
Kitten gateAutomate from 6 months (no weight published)Automate from ~3.3 lb / ~6 months
Min. detection weightnot published3.3 lb
Maker's minimum age6 months6 months
Big-cat fitNo weight limit publishedNo weight limit published
Entry stepnot published7.08 in off the floor
Footprint20.4 × 28.2 in × 6.6 in tall32.2 × 19.96 in × 13.14 in tall
Tray lifeUp to 30 days, one catUp to 30 days, one cat
Litter systemDisposable crystal trayDisposable crystal tray
Litters listedsilica crystalsilica crystal
Litters to avoidclumping clay, non-clumpingclumping clay, tofu, mixed, non-clumping
Weight sensorNoNot published
Anti-pinch protectionNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Infrared / radarNot publishedNot published
CameraNoYes
Wi-Fi appNoYes
Running cost~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states~$20/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states
Required consumableScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray (or PetSafe's reusable tray refilled with its crystal litter)PETKIT Crystal Litter Set (crystal litter and disposable tray)
Bags / linersNone — the tray is lidded and thrown awayNone — the tray is thrown away
Warranty1 year2 years
First listed20242025

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus: what it gives up

  • Needs a PetSafe tray roughly every month per cat, about $23 each
  • Tray life halves with a second cat and drops to a week or so with three
  • Ordinary clumping clay cannot be used
  • PetSafe publishes no cat-weight limits
  • No app

PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo: what it gives up

  • Only PETKIT's own crystal sets fit
  • Monthly set cost exceeds the purchase price within a year
  • PETKIT states no maximum weight, only that large breeds are suitable
  • Designed around one cat; no individual cat recognition

Full pages: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus · PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo