PETKITP9905Crystal tray
Crystal tray~$200

PETKIT

PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo

Automate from ~3.3 lb / ~6 monthsNo weight limit published

This is PETKIT's answer to the ScoopFree: an open crystal tray, but with a camera that watches urination patterns and a 7-inch entry sill. It takes only PETKIT's own Crystal Litter Set, about $20 per set at 4-pack pricing, and PETKIT rates a set for up to 30 days. There is no hood on the base model and no drawer at all.

Approx. price

~$200

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

3.3 lb / 6 mo

detects cats from 3.3 lb; maker's minimum age 6 months

Days between emptying

30-day tray

maker's tray life, one cat

Running cost

~$20/month

for one cat, at the longest life the maker states

Warranty

2 yr

standard, before extensions

Best for: Single-cat owners who want a camera on a crystal-tray box

Kittens and small cats

PETKIT says the sensor detects cats from 3.3 lb and sets a minimum age of 6 months. At the usual rate of about a pound a month, that means leaving automatic cleaning off until roughly 6 months. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: camera. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$200
Type
Crystal tray
Kitten gate
Automate from ~3.3 lb / ~6 months
Big-cat fit
No weight limit published
Entry step
7.08 in off the floor
Footprint
32.2 × 19.96 in × 13.14 in tall
Tray life
Up to 30 days, one cat
Litter system
Disposable crystal tray
Litters listed
silica crystal
Litters to avoid
clumping clay, tofu, mixed, non-clumping
Weight sensor
Not published
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Infrared / radar
Not published
Running cost
~$20/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states
Required consumable
PETKIT Crystal Litter Set (crystal litter and disposable tray)
Bags / liners
None — the tray is thrown away
Warranty
2 years
First listed
2025

Features

  • AI camera tracks urination patterns
  • Disposable crystal tray, up to 30 days per set
  • Four detection sensors
  • Kitten Protection mode stops auto-cleaning
  • 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wi-Fi

What it does well

  • A camera and app at about the price of a basic crystal box
  • No drawer, bag or scooping
  • Two-year warranty
  • Optional pH-detecting crystal set flags urinary changes

What it gives up

  • Only PETKIT's own crystal sets fit
  • Monthly set cost exceeds the purchase price within a year
  • PETKIT states no maximum weight, only that large breeds are suitable
  • Designed around one cat; no individual cat recognition

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

The Crystal Duo is cheap to buy and open enough for bigger cats, and owners who like it mostly like the simplicity: an open tray, a rake and a camera. The disagreement is almost entirely about the trays.

The box reads a code on each tray, and several owners report that it flags a tray as expired and stops cleaning or beeps once that tray has been in long enough, even when they have refilled it with their own crystals or built a reusable liner. Combined with tray life that some multi-cat homes put at a week or two, the running cost is what owners complain about most. One owner with a single large cat, on the other hand, was getting nearly three weeks from a tray.

A single cat is the best match, ideally a large one that finds drums cramped, in a home willing to buy PETKIT's trays indefinitely. Cats that dislike crystal litter, households with several cats, and owners hoping to use their own litter are better served by a drum that takes ordinary clumping litter.

What owners like

  • Owners with big cats bought it for the open design, and one with a large cat said it was what sold them
  • Tray life varies widely with the household: an owner with one large cat was getting close to three weeks per tray, putting the running cost near what they used to spend on tofu litter
  • Several owners say they are happy with the basic function, the rake and the open tray, even when they object to the consumable
  • The purchase price is low for a box with a camera, which is what drew several pre-order buyers

Common complaints

  • Each tray carries a code the box reads, and owners who refilled a tray with their own crystals or fitted a reusable one found the box calling the tray expired, beeping during cleaning, or refusing to clean until a new tray went in
  • Tray life can fall well short of the 30-day figure: one multi-cat owner got about a week from a tray with two cats and two weeks with one
  • Some cats will not use crystal litter at all, and one owner's cats put their paws in and left, leaving the box unused
  • The cardboard trays soften, and an owner who topped up with fresh crystals said a tray lasted only one or two refreshes before it began to smell
  • Trays ran out of stock in at least one country, leaving an owner with a box that kept demanding a replacement

Questions owners ask about the PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo

Can I refill the Crystal Duo tray with my own crystal litter?

Owners who tried say the box reads a code on the tray and eventually reports it as expired, beeping or refusing to clean until a new PETKIT tray is fitted. PETKIT says the box works exclusively with its crystal litter set.

How long does a tray actually last?

PETKIT says up to 30 days. Owners report anything from about a week with two cats to nearly three weeks with one large cat, so the monthly cost depends heavily on the household.

Is the Crystal Duo good for big cats?

Its open design is the reason several owners of large cats chose it over PETKIT's drums, which they found cramped. PETKIT states no maximum weight.

Can I use tofu or clay litter in it?

No. PETKIT says it only works with its own crystal litter set, and owners whose cats dislike crystals have found no supported way around that.

Does the camera record every visit?

It is meant to, but one new owner found the live view worked while no clips were recorded when the cat was inside, and camera features beyond live view are tied to the Care+ plan.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from PETKIT →

← Back to the catalog