PetSafePAL00-18016Crystal tray
Crystal tray~$200

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)No weight limit published

The current open-tray ScoopFree adds a light that tells you when the crystal tray is spent. Everything turns on that tray: its guide says 20 to 30 days for one cat, 10 to 15 for two and 7 to 10 for three or more, and at $23.33 a tray from a 6-pack the tray is the running cost. There is no drawer to empty and no bag.

Approx. price

~$200

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

6 mo

maker's minimum age 6 months

Days between emptying

30-day tray

maker's tray life, one cat

Running cost

~$23/month

for one cat, at the longest life the maker states

Warranty

1 yr

standard, before extensions

Best for: A single cat in a small home where no drawer ever gets emptied

Kittens and small cats

PetSafe publishes no detection weight, only a minimum age of 6 months. Run it by hand before then. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: sensor type not published. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$200
Type
Crystal tray
Kitten gate
Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
Big-cat fit
No weight limit published
Footprint
20.4 × 28.2 in × 6.6 in tall
Tray life
Up to 30 days, one cat
Litter system
Disposable crystal tray
Litters listed
silica crystal
Litters to avoid
clumping clay, non-clumping
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Infrared / radar
Not published
Running cost
~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states
Required consumable
ScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray (or PetSafe's reusable tray refilled with its crystal litter)
Bags / liners
None — the tray is lidded and thrown away
Warranty
1 year
First listed
2024

Features

  • Tray-change indicator light
  • Removable rake for cleaning
  • Disposable lidded crystal trays
  • Also takes PetSafe's reusable tray
  • Under 7 inches tall

What it does well

  • Nothing to scoop, bag or empty: the tray goes out whole
  • Crystal litter is low-dust and tracks less than clay
  • Tray-life figures are published for one, two and three cats
  • Low-profile open tray suits cats wary of hoods
  • One of the cheapest motorised boxes here at around $200

What it gives up

  • Needs a PetSafe tray roughly every month per cat, about $23 each
  • Tray life halves with a second cat and drops to a week or so with three
  • Ordinary clumping clay cannot be used
  • PetSafe publishes no cat-weight limits
  • No app

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

No owner discussion has been read for the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus yet. This section stays empty until there is something real to put in it.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from PetSafe →

← Back to the catalog