PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus lists for about $30 less on its maker's store. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

PetSafePAL00-18016Crystal tray

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)

~$200

The current open-tray ScoopFree adds a light that tells you when the crystal tray is spent.

Best for: A single cat in a small home where no drawer ever gets emptied

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro self-cleaning litter box

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

Kitten threshold not published

~$230

Take the Crystal Plus, add a removable hood and a digital counter that logs how often the box is used, and this is the result for about $30 more.

Best for: Cats that want a covered box, with an owner who likes a visit log without an app

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

Specification comparison of the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
SpecificationPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal PlusPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
Approx. price~$200~$230
TypeCrystal trayCrystal tray
Kitten gateAutomate from 6 months (no weight published)Minimum cat size not published
Maker's minimum age6 monthsnot published
Big-cat fitNo weight limit publishedNo weight limit published
Footprint20.4 × 28.2 in × 6.6 in tall20.4 × 28.2 in × 16 in tall
Tray lifeUp to 30 days, one catUp to 30 days, one cat
Litter systemDisposable crystal trayDisposable crystal tray
Litters listedsilica crystalsilica crystal
Litters to avoidclumping clay, non-clumpingclumping clay, non-clumping
Weight sensorNoNo
Anti-pinch protectionNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Infrared / radarNot publishedNot published
CameraNoNo
Wi-Fi appNoNo
Running cost~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states
Required consumableScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray (or PetSafe's reusable tray refilled with its crystal litter)ScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray (or PetSafe's reusable tray refilled with its crystal litter)
Bags / linersNone — the tray is lidded and thrown awayNone — the tray is lidded and thrown away
Warranty1 yearnot published
First listed2024not published

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus: what it gives up

  • Needs a PetSafe tray roughly every month per cat, about $23 each
  • Tray life halves with a second cat and drops to a week or so with three
  • Ordinary clumping clay cannot be used
  • PetSafe publishes no cat-weight limits
  • No app

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro: what it gives up

  • Same roughly $23-a-month tray habit as the Plus
  • PetSafe publishes no cat weight range or hood opening size
  • Clumping clay is not an option
  • No app despite the counter

Full pages: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus · PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro