PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro self-cleaning litter boxCrystal tray~$230

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

Kitten threshold not publishedNo weight limit published

Take the Crystal Plus, add a removable hood and a digital counter that logs how often the box is used, and this is the result for about $30 more. The hood stands the unit 16 inches tall and gives the cat some privacy; running costs are unchanged at roughly one $23 tray a month for a single cat.

Approx. price

~$230

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

Not published

nothing published

Days between emptying

30-day tray

maker's tray life, one cat

Running cost

~$23/month

for one cat, at the longest life the maker states

Best for: Cats that want a covered box, with an owner who likes a visit log without an app

Kittens and small cats

PetSafe publishes neither the lightest cat this box detects nor a minimum age. Until it does, treat it as unsuitable for automatic cleaning around a kitten and run it by hand.

Detection: sensor type not published. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$230
Type
Crystal tray
Kitten gate
Minimum cat size not published
Big-cat fit
No weight limit published
Footprint
20.4 × 28.2 in × 16 in tall
Tray life
Up to 30 days, one cat
Litter system
Disposable crystal tray
Litters listed
silica crystal
Litters to avoid
clumping clay, non-clumping
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Infrared / radar
Not published
Running cost
~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states
Required consumable
ScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray (or PetSafe's reusable tray refilled with its crystal litter)
Bags / liners
None — the tray is lidded and thrown away

Features

  • Removable privacy hood
  • Digital health counter logs visits
  • Tray-change indicator light
  • Disposable lidded crystal trays
  • Compatible with PetSafe's reusable tray

What it does well

  • Hood cuts down on crystals kicked out the sides
  • Visit counter flags a change in habits without needing Wi-Fi
  • Hood lifts off for cats that prefer an open tray
  • No bag, drawer or scooping

What it gives up

  • Same roughly $23-a-month tray habit as the Plus
  • PetSafe publishes no cat weight range or hood opening size
  • Clumping clay is not an option
  • No app despite the counter

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

No owner discussion has been read for the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro yet. This section stays empty until there is something real to put in it.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from PetSafe →

← Back to the catalog