PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy lists for about $70 less on its maker's store. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

PetSafePAL00-18016Crystal tray

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)

~$200

The current open-tray ScoopFree adds a light that tells you when the crystal tray is spent.

Best for: A single cat in a small home where no drawer ever gets emptied

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy self-cleaning litter box

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)

~$130

PetSafe still sells the 2020 redesign that made the health counter standard across the line, now under the Legacy name at about $130 uncovered.

Best for: A tight budget, one cat, and no interest in an app

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

Specification comparison of the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy
SpecificationPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal PlusPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy
Approx. price~$200~$130
TypeCrystal trayCrystal tray
Kitten gateAutomate from 6 months (no weight published)Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
Maker's minimum age6 months6 months
Big-cat fitNo weight limit publishedNo weight limit published
Footprint20.4 × 28.2 in × 6.6 in tall19.1 × 27.6 in × 6.2 in tall
Tray lifeUp to 30 days, one catUp to 30 days, one cat
Litter systemDisposable crystal trayDisposable crystal tray
Litters listedsilica crystalsilica crystal
Litters to avoidclumping clay, non-clumpingclumping clay, non-clumping
Weight sensorNoNo
Anti-pinch protectionNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Infrared / radarNot publishedNot published
CameraNoNo
Wi-Fi appNoNo
Running cost~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker states
Required consumableScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray (or PetSafe's reusable tray refilled with its crystal litter)ScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray
Bags / linersNone — the tray is lidded and thrown awayNone — the tray is lidded and thrown away
Warranty1 yearnot published
First listed20242020

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus: what it gives up

  • Needs a PetSafe tray roughly every month per cat, about $23 each
  • Tray life halves with a second cat and drops to a week or so with three
  • Ordinary clumping clay cannot be used
  • PetSafe publishes no cat-weight limits
  • No app

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy: what it gives up

  • The tray habit costs more over two years than the box itself
  • Older design with no tray-change light
  • Crystal trays only
  • No published weight limits or warranty term on the page

Full pages: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Plus · PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy