PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro lists for about $40 less on its maker's store. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro self-cleaning litter box

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

Kitten threshold not published

~$230

Take the Crystal Plus, add a removable hood and a digital counter that logs how often the box is used, and this is the result for about $30 more.

Best for: Cats that want a covered box, with an owner who likes a visit log without an app

Days between emptying

No drawer: the disposable tray is the unit you replace. The maker rates a tray for up to 30 days with one cat.

PetSafePAL00-16807Crystal tray

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)

~$270

This is the app-connected member of the crystal-tray family, sold open or with a front-entry hood that brings it to 15.6 inches.

Best for: Owners who travel and want a visit log from a crystal-tray box

Days between emptying

The maker publishes no drawer volume, so the days cannot be worked out.

Specification comparison of the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
SpecificationPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal ProPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
Approx. price~$230~$270
TypeCrystal trayCrystal tray
Kitten gateMinimum cat size not publishedAutomate from 6 months (no weight published)
Maker's minimum agenot published6 months
Big-cat fitNo weight limit publishedNo weight limit published
Footprint20.4 × 28.2 in × 16 in tall19.1 × 27.6 in × 6.2 in tall
Tray lifeUp to 30 days, one catnot published
Litter systemDisposable crystal trayDisposable crystal tray
Litters listedsilica crystalsilica crystal
Litters to avoidclumping clay, non-clumpingclumping clay, non-clumping
Weight sensorNoNo
Anti-pinch protectionNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Infrared / radarNot publishedNot published
CameraNoNo
Wi-Fi appNoYes
Running cost~$23/month for one cat, at the longest life the maker statesRequires a proprietary consumable
Required consumableScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray (or PetSafe's reusable tray refilled with its crystal litter)ScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray
Bags / linersNone — the tray is lidded and thrown awayNone — the tray is lidded and thrown away

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro: what it gives up

  • Same roughly $23-a-month tray habit as the Plus
  • PetSafe publishes no cat weight range or hood opening size
  • Clumping clay is not an option
  • No app despite the counter

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart: what it gives up

  • Needs a proprietary crystal tray on a recurring basis
  • No tray-life figure on this model's page, so running cost is not stated
  • PetSafe lists no weight limits for it
  • About $70 more than the Crystal Plus

Full pages: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro · PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart