PetSafePAL00-16807Crystal tray
Crystal tray~$270

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart

Automate from 6 months (no weight published)No weight limit published

This is the app-connected member of the crystal-tray family, sold open or with a front-entry hood that brings it to 15.6 inches. The My PetSafe app logs visits and reminds you when a tray is due. PetSafe's page gives no tray-life figure for this model, so the site does not compute a monthly cost for it even though it uses the same trays.

Approx. price

~$270

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

6 mo

maker's minimum age 6 months

Running cost

Not published

The maker does not publish enough to work out a monthly cost

Best for: Owners who travel and want a visit log from a crystal-tray box

Kittens and small cats

PetSafe publishes no detection weight, only a minimum age of 6 months. Run it by hand before then. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: sensor type not published. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

The maker publishes no drawer volume, so the days cannot be worked out.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$270
Type
Crystal tray
Kitten gate
Automate from 6 months (no weight published)
Big-cat fit
No weight limit published
Footprint
19.1 × 27.6 in × 6.2 in tall
Litter system
Disposable crystal tray
Litters listed
silica crystal
Litters to avoid
clumping clay, non-clumping
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Infrared / radar
Not published
Running cost
Requires a proprietary consumable
Required consumable
ScoopFree disposable crystal litter tray
Bags / liners
None — the tray is lidded and thrown away

Features

  • My PetSafe app with visit logs and alerts
  • LCD display and health counter
  • Tray-change reminders
  • Uncovered or hooded front-entry versions
  • Disposable crystal trays

What it does well

  • Remote visit log catches a change in bathroom habits early
  • App tells you when the tray is due instead of relying on a glance
  • Low 6.2-inch uncovered profile
  • Available with or without a hood

What it gives up

  • Needs a proprietary crystal tray on a recurring basis
  • No tray-life figure on this model's page, so running cost is not stated
  • PetSafe lists no weight limits for it
  • About $70 more than the Crystal Plus

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

No owner discussion has been read for the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart yet. This section stays empty until there is something real to put in it.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from PetSafe →

← Back to the catalog