Whisker Litter-Robot 5 vs Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro
Both makers say their sensor detects cats from 3 lb, so the kitten threshold does not separate them. The Whisker Litter-Robot 5 lists for about $100 less on its maker's store. Every other published figure for both is in the table, with the rows where they differ tinted.

Whisker
Whisker Litter-Robot 5
~$799
Whisker's 2025 replacement for the LR4 keeps the same 22-by-27-inch footprint and entry but raises the rated weight to 30 lb and the cat count to five.
Best for: Large multi-cat homes that want visit-level tracking without a camera
The maker publishes no drawer volume, so the days cannot be worked out. Its own claim is up to 10 days for one cat.

Whisker
Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro
~$899
What the extra $100 over the LR5 buys is a pair of AI cameras: one identifies which cat walked in by face, the other looks down at the litter bed.
Best for: Multi-cat homes where telling similar-weight cats apart matters
The maker publishes no drawer volume, so the days cannot be worked out. Its own claim is up to 10 days for one cat.
| Specification | Whisker Litter-Robot 5 | Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Approx. price | ~$799 | ~$899 |
| Type | Rotating drum | Rotating drum |
| Kitten gate | Automate from ~3 lb / ~3 months | Automate from ~3 lb / ~3 months |
| Min. detection weight | 3 lb | 3 lb |
| Max. cat weight | 30 lb | 30 lb |
| Big-cat fit | Rated for large breeds (to 30 lb) | Rated for large breeds (to 30 lb) |
| Entry opening | 15.75 × 15.75 in | 15.75 × 15.75 in |
| Entry step | 7 in off the floor | 7 in off the floor |
| Interior height | 17.5 in | 17.5 in |
| Footprint | 22 × 27 in × 29.9 in tall | 22 × 27 in × 29.9 in tall |
| Maker's drawer claim | Up to 10 days, one cat | Up to 10 days, one cat |
| Cats supported | Up to 5 | Up to 5 |
| Litter system | Clumping litter | Clumping litter |
| Litters listed | clumping clay, silica crystal | clumping clay, silica crystal |
| Litters to avoid | tofu, clumping wood/pine, non-clumping, paper, pellets | tofu, clumping wood/pine, non-clumping, paper, pellets |
| Weight sensor | Yes | Yes |
| Anti-pinch protection | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
| Infrared / radar | Yes | Yes |
| Camera | No | Yes |
| Wi-Fi app | Yes | Yes |
| Running cost | No required consumable | No required consumable |
| Bags / liners | Whisker custom-fit drawer liners ($25 for 25) | Whisker custom-fit drawer liners ($25 for 25) |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year |
| First listed | 2025 | 2025 |
Whisker Litter-Robot 5: what it gives up
- No published drawer volume, so the ten-day claim cannot be checked against arithmetic
- Whisker does not describe pinch detection on this model the way it does for the LR4
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Some app insights sit behind the Whisker+ membership
Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro: what it gives up
- The most expensive Litter-Robot, at about $900
- Visual cat identification is listed among the Whisker+ membership features
- Whisker gives no drawer volume for the Pro
- Adds cameras pointed into a room, which not every household wants
Full pages: Whisker Litter-Robot 5 · Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro