Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro self-cleaning litter boxRotating drum~$899

Whisker

Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro

Automate from ~3 lb / ~3 monthsRated for large breeds (to 30 lb)

What the extra $100 over the LR5 buys is a pair of AI cameras: one identifies which cat walked in by face, the other looks down at the litter bed. Everything mechanical matches the LR5, down to the 3–30 lb range and five-cat rating. It is also the only Litter-Robot that will join a 5 GHz network.

Approx. price

~$899

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

3 lb / 3 mo

detects cats from 3 lb

Max. cat weight

30 lb

15.75-inch-wide entry

Running cost

No consumable

Runs on clumping litter from any brand the maker allows

Warranty

1 yr

standard, before extensions

Best for: Multi-cat homes where telling similar-weight cats apart matters

Kittens and small cats

Whisker says the sensor detects cats from 3 lb. At the usual rate of about a pound a month, that means leaving automatic cleaning off until roughly 3 months. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: weight, infrared / radar, camera. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

The maker publishes no drawer volume, so the days cannot be worked out. Its own claim is up to 10 days for one cat.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$899
Type
Rotating drum
Kitten gate
Automate from ~3 lb / ~3 months
Big-cat fit
Rated for large breeds (to 30 lb)
Entry opening
15.75 × 15.75 in
Entry step
7 in off the floor
Footprint
22 × 27 in × 29.9 in tall
Maker's drawer claim
Up to 10 days, one cat
Litter system
Clumping litter
Litters listed
clumping clay, silica crystal
Litters to avoid
tofu, clumping wood/pine, non-clumping, paper, pellets
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Running cost
No required consumable
Bags / liners
Whisker custom-fit drawer liners ($25 for 25)
Warranty
1 year
First listed
2025

Features

  • Dual cameras with facial recognition to tell cats apart
  • Live view and recorded clips, up to 5 minutes of streaming a day free
  • WasteID urine-versus-stool detection
  • Joins 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz Wi-Fi
  • Rated for up to five cats, 3–30 lb

What it does well

  • Camera identification separates cats a scale alone would confuse
  • The only Litter-Robot that works on a 5 GHz network
  • Keeps the LR5's 30 lb ceiling and five-cat rating
  • Runs on ordinary clay clumping litter or a crystal that passes the screen
  • Recorded events are included in the free app tier

What it gives up

  • The most expensive Litter-Robot, at about $900
  • Visual cat identification is listed among the Whisker+ membership features
  • Whisker gives no drawer volume for the Pro
  • Adds cameras pointed into a room, which not every household wants

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

The Litter-Robot 5 Pro is Whisker's most expensive box, and it has drawn the most divided reaction of any model in the community. Owners broadly agree the hardware is a step up: the build feels premium, the globe is roomier, and cats take to it. Many owners with one or two cats report using it happily with no mechanical faults.

The complaints centre on software rather than the drum. WasteID, which is meant to tell urine from stool and adjust the cycle, is widely described as unreliable, and owners blame it for smearing wet clumps. Camera-based cat identification works for some and not for others. Recording from the interior camera was missing for months after launch, while the outward-facing camera could record. Bug lists add laser-board faults, false alerts and slow camera loading, and Whisker's pace of fixes is a sore point.

Buy it for Whisker's largest globe and the camera features, and only if being an early adopter of software that is still changing sounds acceptable. Owners who mainly want reliable self-cleaning frequently recommend the LR4 or the standard LR5 instead, and anyone buying for WasteID or visual identification should read recent owner experience first.

What owners like

  • Owners describe a noticeably more solid build than the LR4: a sturdier bonnet, tighter gaps, configurable globe lights and room for more litter
  • Plenty of owners report no mechanical problems at all; one running it for five cats in a high-traffic spot since launch, and one with a large Maine Coon kitten that found cheaper boxes cramped
  • Cats often prefer it; one owner who set it up beside an LR4 found all four cats choosing the new robot within a day
  • Owners moving from several ordinary boxes value the consolidation, and some used FSA funds through Whisker's partner

Common complaints

  • WasteID, one of the two flagship features, is the most common complaint; owners describe it misclassifying visits and, when it cycles on a wet clump, smearing waste across the globe
  • Cat identification is unreliable for some households even with cameras and paid RFID tags, and at least one owner says it tells their cats apart worse than their LR4 did on weight alone
  • For months only the outward-facing camera could record, so owners could watch the inside of the globe live but not review it, which many found backwards
  • Recurring laser-board fault messages, false low-litter alerts and inaccurate waste weights appear in several owners' bug lists, and a few were sent replacement units
  • Wi-Fi setup was painful for some; one owner with two units had to create a separate network before either would connect
  • One owner reported the robot emptying its litter into the drawer while supposedly in sleep mode during a trip

Questions owners ask about the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro

Does WasteID on the LR5 Pro work?

Owner experience is mixed at best. Many describe it misclassifying visits, and some blame it for cycling on wet clumps and smearing the globe. Owners who did not buy it for WasteID are generally happier with the robot.

Can I record video from the inside camera?

For months after launch only the outward-facing camera could record; the interior camera offered live view only. Check Whisker's current release notes before buying if interior recordings matter to you.

Does the LR5 Pro tell my cats apart?

Some owners say it does well after a first month of learning; others with similar-weight cats find it unreliable even with the paid camera identification and RFID tags.

What are the common LR5 Pro error messages?

Owners most often mention laser-board faults, position faults and false low-litter alerts. Some are rare and harmless; others were resolved with a reset walked through by support, and a few units were replaced.

Is the extended warranty worth it on the LR5 Pro?

Owners point out that an out-of-warranty base replacement for the LR5 Pro costs $649, which is a large share of the robot's price and the reason several recommend the extended cover.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from Whisker →

← Back to the catalog