Whisker Litter-Robot 5 self-cleaning litter boxRotating drum~$799

Whisker

Whisker Litter-Robot 5

Automate from ~3 lb / ~3 monthsRated for large breeds (to 30 lb)

Whisker's 2025 replacement for the LR4 keeps the same 22-by-27-inch footprint and entry but raises the rated weight to 30 lb and the cat count to five. WasteID sensing tells urine from stool, which the app uses for routine tracking. The emptying estimate moves from about eight days to about ten for a single cat, though neither figure comes with a drawer volume.

Approx. price

~$799

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

3 lb / 3 mo

detects cats from 3 lb

Max. cat weight

30 lb

15.75-inch-wide entry

Running cost

No consumable

Runs on clumping litter from any brand the maker allows

Warranty

1 yr

standard, before extensions

Best for: Large multi-cat homes that want visit-level tracking without a camera

Kittens and small cats

Whisker says the sensor detects cats from 3 lb. At the usual rate of about a pound a month, that means leaving automatic cleaning off until roughly 3 months. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: weight, infrared / radar. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

The maker publishes no drawer volume, so the days cannot be worked out. Its own claim is up to 10 days for one cat.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$799
Type
Rotating drum
Kitten gate
Automate from ~3 lb / ~3 months
Big-cat fit
Rated for large breeds (to 30 lb)
Entry opening
15.75 × 15.75 in
Entry step
7 in off the floor
Footprint
22 × 27 in × 29.9 in tall
Maker's drawer claim
Up to 10 days, one cat
Litter system
Clumping litter
Litters listed
clumping clay, silica crystal
Litters to avoid
tofu, clumping wood/pine, non-clumping, paper, pellets
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Running cost
No required consumable
Bags / liners
Whisker custom-fit drawer liners ($25 for 25)
Warranty
1 year
First listed
2025

Features

  • WasteID tells urine visits from stool visits
  • Laser and weight detection from 3 lb
  • Rated for cats up to 30 lb and up to five cats
  • LCD display on the bezel
  • Silica crystal accepted if it passes the screen

What it does well

  • The 30 lb ceiling is the highest Whisker has published for any model
  • Same footprint as the LR4 despite the taller 17.5-inch interior
  • Silica crystal litter is allowed as long as it clears the screen, unlike on the LR4
  • Ordinary clumping clay still works; no required cartridge or tray
  • Rated for five cats, level with the top figure any enclosed drum here states

What it gives up

  • No published drawer volume, so the ten-day claim cannot be checked against arithmetic
  • Whisker does not describe pinch detection on this model the way it does for the LR4
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
  • Some app insights sit behind the Whisker+ membership

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

The Litter-Robot 5 arrived in late 2025 into a community already sceptical of its price and the new Whisker+ membership, and much of the discussion since has been about the company as much as the machine. Owners who have lived with it tend to describe the hardware positively: a sturdier build than the LR4, a larger drawer and taller globe, and a display that explains what the robot is doing.

The early months were rougher than the LR4's current state. Several owners had units that would not connect, and replacements were needed. Others found litter sticking to plastic parts, or mould on clumps in the better-sealed drawer if it was left for a fortnight. In mid-2026 the internal USB-C port, which owners had used to power their own cameras, stopped providing power.

Large multi-cat homes that want the bigger drawer and cat-weight range, and are comfortable buying Whisker's new accessories, get the most from it. Owners who already have an LR4, or who are buying on value, often recommend the LR4 with a hopper and an extended warranty instead, particularly at the discounts it regularly sells for.

What owners like

  • Owners who have used both describe a sturdier build than the LR4, with tighter seams and a firmer bonnet, and the colour display gives more information than the LR4's pattern of lights
  • Cats generally take to it quickly, including in a six-cat household whose owner was otherwise frustrated with it
  • The larger drawer and the taller globe are the upgrades owners notice day to day, and the LR5 hopper holds 17.3 cups against the LR4 hopper's 13
  • An owner who went through early problems with cat identification said the household came to love it once those settled

Common complaints

  • Early units arrived that would not join Wi-Fi or finish onboarding; at least two owners were sent replacement robots, one told by support that a faulty Wi-Fi chip was a known issue
  • The better-sealed drawer can grow mould on clumps if the bag is left for around two weeks; owners change the bag weekly or add silica gel
  • LR4 accessories such as the shield and hopper do not fit, which left one owner whose old robot failed the day before a trip with no way to reuse them
  • The internal USB-C port that owners used to power their own cameras stopped providing power in mid-2026 on both the LR5 and LR5 Pro, and support told one owner it no longer works
  • Litter sticks to the plastic parts for some owners even with the same litter, spray and 15-minute delay that caused no problems in their LR4
  • Existing owners resent that some insights and features sit behind the paid Whisker+ membership on a robot that already costs about $800

Questions owners ask about the Whisker Litter-Robot 5

Is the Litter-Robot 5 worth it over the LR4?

Owners who have both say the LR5 feels better built and the larger drawer helps, but several who bought early recommend the LR4 with a hopper and warranty on value, because the LR5's extras depend on accessories and app features that arrived late.

Do my LR4 accessories fit the LR5?

No. Owners report that the LR4 shield and hopper do not fit, and the LR5 has its own hopper with a larger 17.3-cup capacity.

Why is there mould in my LR5 drawer?

Owners think the drawer seals better than older models, so moisture stays in. Changing the bag weekly rather than leaving it for two weeks, or adding silica gel crystals to the bag, stops it.

My new LR5 will not connect to Wi-Fi. What should I do?

Contact Whisker support. Owners whose units would not onboard were sent replacements, and one was told a faulty Wi-Fi chip was a known issue on early units. The LR5 needs a 2.4 GHz network.

Can I power a camera from the LR5's USB port?

Owners did until mid-2026, when the internal port stopped providing power on both the LR5 and LR5 Pro. Support told one owner the feature no longer works.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from Whisker →

← Back to the catalog