PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky self-cleaning litter boxOpen-top~$550

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky

Automate from ~3 lb / ~6 monthsRated for large breeds (to 33 lb)

PetSafe's open-top design has no hood and no globe, so the cat never walks into an enclosure at all. Its user guide is unusually specific about kittens: keep auto-clean off until the cat is both 3 lb and 6 months old, because the trigger is a weight change of more than 3 lb. PetSafe rates the bowl for cats up to 33 lb and puts the drawer at 8.5 litres.

Approx. price

~$550

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

3 lb / 6 mo

detects cats from 3 lb; maker's minimum age 6 months

Days between emptying

~12 days

one cat, from the drawer volume

Max. cat weight

33 lb

Open design — no entry to squeeze through

Running cost

No consumable

Runs on clumping litter from any brand the maker allows

Warranty

1 yr

standard, before extensions

Best for: Large or hood-shy cats in a home that uses clay clumping litter

Kittens and small cats

PetSafe says the sensor detects cats from 3 lb and sets a minimum age of 6 months. At the usual rate of about a pound a month, that means leaving automatic cleaning off until roughly 6 months. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: weight, infrared / radar. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

1 cat
~12
days
2 cats
~6
days
3 cats
~4
days

8.5 L ÷ (cats × 0.7 L a day). The maker claims up to 14 days for one cat, within reach of the arithmetic. Where 0.7 L comes from.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$550
Type
Open-top
Kitten gate
Automate from ~3 lb / ~6 months
Big-cat fit
Rated for large breeds (to 33 lb)
Footprint
20 × 18.8 in × 24 in tall
Days between emptying
~12 / 6 / 4 days for 1 / 2 / 3 cats
Maker's drawer claim
Up to 14 days, one cat
Litter system
Clumping litter
Litters listed
clumping clay
Litters to avoid
tofu, clumping wood/pine
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Running cost
No required consumable
Bags / liners
PetSafe OpenSky waste bin liners
Warranty
1 year
First listed
2025

Features

  • Open-top bowl with no hood or entry to squeeze through
  • 8.5-litre waste drawer
  • Weight trigger plus an infrared sensor
  • Countdown adjustable from 1 to 60 minutes in the app
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi with weight and visit tracking

What it does well

  • Its 33 lb rating matches the highest figure in the catalog
  • No entry to fit through, which suits big cats and cats that avoid covered boxes
  • The drawer volume is published, so the two-week claim can actually be checked
  • Kitten guidance names both a weight and an age, which few makers bother to do
  • A countdown adjustable up to an hour gives skittish cats room to leave

What it gives up

  • At about $550, the priciest PetSafe
  • Pine and tofu pellets may not work, per the user guide
  • The two-week figure assumes one cat; PetSafe says 1–2 emptyings a week for two
  • Open sides give scattered litter nowhere to land but the floor

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

No owner discussion has been read for the PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky yet. This section stays empty until there is something real to put in it.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from PetSafe →

← Back to the catalog