PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin self-cleaning litter boxRotating drum~$400

PetSafe

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

Automate from ~2.5 lb / ~6 monthsRated for large breeds (to 25 lb)

Two PetSafe documents disagree about this drum. The product page says the 6-litre drawer holds up to two weeks of waste; the user guide says to expect emptying about once a week for one cat and twice a week for two. The entry sits 12 inches off the floor, and the lowest trigger weight in the PetSafe range, 2.5 lb, is paired with a 6-month age floor.

Approx. price

~$400

maker's store, not a live price

Kitten gate

2.5 lb / 6 mo

detects cats from 2.5 lb; maker's minimum age 6 months

Days between emptying

~8 days

one cat, from the drawer volume

Running cost

No consumable

Runs on clumping litter from any brand the maker allows

Warranty

1 yr

standard, before extensions

Best for: A single cat whose owner wants a drum without Litter-Robot pricing

Kittens and small cats

PetSafe says the sensor detects cats from 2.5 lb and sets a minimum age of 6 months. At the usual rate of about a pound a month, that means leaving automatic cleaning off until roughly 6 months. Below the threshold, a kitten may not register at all, and the box could start a cycle with it inside.

Detection: weight, infrared / radar. The maker does not state any anti-pinch protection.

How minimum weights work, and what to do below them

Days between emptying

1 cat
~8
days
2 cats
~4
days
3 cats
~2
days

6 L ÷ (cats × 0.7 L a day). The maker claims up to 14 days for one cat, which is more generous than this arithmetic supports. Where 0.7 L comes from.

Specifications

Approx. price
~$400
Type
Rotating drum
Kitten gate
Automate from ~2.5 lb / ~6 months
Big-cat fit
Rated for large breeds (to 25 lb)
Entry step
12 in off the floor
Days between emptying
~8 / 4 / 2 days for 1 / 2 / 3 cats
Maker's drawer claim
Up to 14 days, one cat
Litter system
Clumping litter
Litters listed
clumping clay
Anti-pinch protection
Not stated by the maker
Running cost
No required consumable
Bags / liners
PetSafe waste bin liners
Warranty
1 year
First listed
2024

Features

  • 6-litre sealed waste drawer with a deodoriser pack
  • Detects a weight change of 2.5 lb
  • Entry 12 inches from the floor
  • Child lock and on-demand clean on the control panel
  • PetSafe Pet Companion app over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi

What it does well

  • The 2.5 lb trigger is the lowest published weight among PetSafe's boxes
  • Around $400, several hundred dollars under the big-name globes
  • Drawer volume is published, which Whisker does not do for any Litter-Robot
  • Child lock on the panel is useful where small hands can reach it
  • PetSafe says it takes almost any litter, though it recommends clumping clay

What it gives up

  • The guide's once-a-week emptying estimate is half the product page's two weeks
  • PetSafe publishes no external dimensions for it
  • Tofu and other large pellets may not work
  • 25 lb ceiling is below the open-top models

The two lists above are drawn from the maker’s own pages, manuals and prices, not from owner reports. Where owner discussion has been read it appears in its own section below, so the two are never mistaken for each other.

What owners say

No owner discussion has been read for the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin yet. This section stays empty until there is something real to put in it.

Others in the same part of the catalog

More from PetSafe →

← Back to the catalog